Tuesday, June 27, 2017 Tue Jun 27, 2017 | Text Size: + -

Clay County Clerk of the Circuit Court

Traffic Court Frequently Asked Questions

1Can payment of civil infractions be made with a personal check?

Yes. Your name, address, and telephone number needs to be pre-printed on the check.

Can I obtain an affidavit to go to defensive driving school in Clay County if my ticket was issued in another county?

Yes. You can come to the Clay County Courthouse in Green Cove Springs or any branch office and obtain the affidavit. The charge for the affidavit is $7.00. You must bring a copy of the ticket with you.

Does going to defensive driving school keep the citation off my driving record?

No. The citation will show on your record, but will show as an adjudication withheld. This means no points will be assessed.

How can I find out how many points I have on my driving record?

A copy of your driving record may be purchased at the main office and all branch locations of the Clerks’ Office. Contact Us. The charge for a three (3) year record is $14.25. A complete history is $16.25.

How are points assessed in the State of Florida?

Per Florida Statute 322.27 – when people accumulate too many points on their driving record in a set period of time, their driving privilege is automatically suspended for a period of time:

  • 12 points within 12 months – 30 day suspension
  • 18 points within 18 months – 3 months suspension
  • 24 points within 24 months – 1 year suspension

What are the points for different violations?

  • Moving violations resulting in an accident – 4 to 6 points
  • Moving violations not resulting in an accident – 3 points
  • Speeding 15 mph or less – 3 points
  • Speeding over 15 mph – 4 points
  • Non-moving violations do not accumulate points.

How long do points remain against my driving record?

Points can stay on your record and are counted against you for 3 years.

Can I elect to attend defensive driving school after I have paid my citation?

No. Once you pay the citation, you have made your one election for that violation. If you wish to attend school, you must inform the cashier prior to your payment.

Does attending defensive driving school keep my insurance rates down?

It is up to the individual insurance company as to how your rates will be affected. Please contact your insurance provider for specific information regarding your rates and policy.

Can Clay County accept payment for citations issued in other Counties?

No. Clay County can only accept payments on citations issued within Clay County.

Clay County Clerk of the Circuit Court © 2017

825 North Orange Ave. | P.O. Box 698 | Green Cove Springs, Florida 32043 | 904-269-6302