Please Note: Due to COVID-19 heath crisis, traffic related court dates originally scheduled for April 2, 2020, are now scheduled instead for May 22, 2020.
A civil traffic infraction is a non-criminal violation and usually can be disposed of by payment of a civil penalty or election to attend a basic driver improvement course. A court appearance is not required, unless elected by the defendant. However, the following violations do require a mandatory court appearance: the violation involves an accident with serious bodily injury or a fatality, violations of leaving a child in a vehicle unattended, speeding in excess of 30 miles per hour over the speed limit or littering. Traffic tickets written for certain drivers license, registration, or insurance violations may be dismissed by the Clerk if you file proof that it was valid at the time the citation was issued. A dismissal fee of $10.00 shall be paid at the time of filing proof.
In an effort to provide a way for those receiving driver school completion certificates to determine the status of their submitted completion certificate, a publicly-available web page where a citation number can be entered to view the status of the completion certificate was created.
Victim Impact Panel (VIP Class)
The Victim Impact Panel (VIP Class) or MADD class, as it is sometimes referred to, is designed for first-time youth offenders who have received a civil traffic citation. If the teenage/juvenile is still in high school and wishes to participate in the VIP class, they must complete an Affidavit of Defense. This form is available by visiting our Civil Traffic Department, Room 1049, in the Clay County Courthouse in Green Cove Springs. This form is also available at any of our Branch Locations. Upon your completion and submission of the affidavit, the Clay County Clerk’s Office forwards the form to the judge assigned to your case. If the judge approves your affidavit, you then have ninety (90) days in which to complete the VIP class. VIP classes are held once a month at the Clay County Administration Building, 4th Floor, 477 Houston Street, Green Cove Springs, Florida. Classes fill up quickly, therefore registration should be done as soon as possible. To register for the VIP class, you must bring in your original form that the Judge signed (not a copy). Registration is handled by the judicial assistants located on the second floor of the Clay County Courthouse. Hours for registration are Monday through Friday, 8:30am-12:00pm and 1:00pm-4:30pm. Should you have any questions regarding the VIP class, please contact our Clerk’s Office Traffic Department at (904)278-3666.
Local Parking Tickets
Any person receiving a local parking ticket shall answer within 10-days of receipt of the ticket by either: paying the civil penalty indicated on the ticket or electing a hearing at the Clerk’s Office. A $5.00 late fee will be assessed if payment is not received within 10 days from the date of issuance. All unpaid parking violations will be filed with a third party collection agency.
Disposing Of a Citation Received in Another County
Tickets must be satisfied in the county in which they were issued. To find a list of websites for Florida Clerk of Courts, refer to Useful Links.
To reinstate your license, you will be required to satisfy any unpaid fine amounts due in addition to any delinquent fees or administrative fees. The Clerk’s Office can assist you in reinstating your license, unless there are additional reasons for the suspension. You may need to seek assistance at the local driver’s license office.
Civil Traffic Infractions May be Satisfied by the Following Means
You may enter a plea of not guilty and request a hearing before the court. You must come into one of our offices within the required time frame. Your case will be scheduled for a court date, and you will be advised when and where to appear. The officer who issued the citation and any other witnesses called by the officer will be present. You may also bring any witnesses you wish to testify on your behalf. If you are found guilty of a civil infraction, the court may assess a fine and court costs, order you to attend a defensive driving course, or impose other penalties. A suspension will be issued against your driver’s license and additional penalties will be imposed if you fail to comply with the court’s order within the specified time period.
The Department of Highway Safety & Motor Vehicles now provides information regarding the eligibility to elect driver improvement school in lieu of points. To access this information visit www.flhsmv.gov then click on Driver License Check under the Driver License heading in the middle of the page. Enter the Driver License number then click enter.
Any person charged with a moving traffic violation is eligible to elect to attend a driver improvement course. You may not elect to take a basic driver improvement course more than five times in your lifetime or more than once in a 12 month period. An election to attend a basic driver improvement course to satisfy the violation will be entered on your driver history records as an “adjudication withheld” and points will not be assessed against your driver’s license. You must make your election and pay the associated fines and costs to attend a driver improvement course in the county in which your ticket was issued. The course election must be chosen prior to paying your citation. You must enroll, attend, and complete a DHSMV approved course within 90 days from the date you signed the affidavit. Approved driver improvement schools can be found by doing an internet search for Florida Driver Improvement Schools. Or you can access a list of Basic Driver Improvement courses approved by the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles here.
Fines and Fees
Payment of Citations
Most citations can be paid online through our vendor, nCourt Payment Solutions or by calling the nCourt Traffic customer service department at (904) 531-3325. To make a payment via the web or through customer service, you must provide the case number or citation number as well as the driver’s date of birth or drivers license number shown on the citation. nCourt accepts all major credit and debit cards in which to pay the citation amount in full, partial payments are not accepted. Citation holders who use the web service will incur a service fee of 5% and phone payment users will incur a service fee of 7%. You may still make your payments at any of our office locations using a credit or debit card. We accept Visa, Master Card, American Express and Discover. When using a credit or debit card over the counter, there is a service fee of 3.5%. We also accept cash, in-state personal checks, cashier’s checks and money orders.
All Civil Traffic Infractions must be paid within 90 days from the date the ticket was issued. After 90 days, if the citation has not been paid, a delinquent fee will be added, your driver’s license will be suspended and you will not be eligible to attend the defensive driving course. Additionally, your account will be turned over to a collection agency and additional fees will be assessed.
All civil traffic citations are due and payable within 90 days of issuance of the citation. Any citations that remain unpaid will be forwarded to a third party collection agency, resulting in an additional 25% owing on the outstanding balance.
Red Light Camera Tickets
If you have received a red light camera notice of violation, you will have 60 days in which to pay the violation or request a hearing. Payments made within 60 days of receipt of the violation are made directly to the vendor. If you have any questions during this timeframe, or if you wish to request a hearing, you must contact the vendor directly at the address below.
You may also contact the ticketing agency directly with any questions. If you fail to remit payment within 60 days, the violation will become a Uniform Traffic Citation (UTC) and you will be subject to a higher payment amount. All payments for a UTC are paid through the Clerk’s Office. Payments can be made online, through the nCourt customer service center, in person or mailed to our office.
Intersection Safety Program
P.O. Box 22091
Tempe, AZ 85285-2091
Green Cove Springs Police Department: 904-297-7300
Orange Park Police Department: 904-264-5555
Mailing Address: Clay County Clerk of Court, Attention Traffic Dept., P.O. Box 698, Green Cove Springs, FL 32043
Traffic Department Clerks, under the supervision of Director Cindy Revels, are available to assist you.
Call 904-529-3666 or 904-278-3666 Monday – Friday.