Every marriage license is issued by a county judge or clerk of the circuit court under his/her hand and seal. The county judge or clerk of the circuit court shall issue such license, upon application for the license, if there appears to be no impediments to the marriage.
For marriage license appointments at our Green Cove Springs location (main courthouse), please call 904-269-6302 (Recording Department). For marriage license appointments at our Orange Park Branch location, please call 904-541-2784.
Written Application Required
To seek an application, the parties to the marriage must first file an affidavit in writing, sign such affidavit, and subscribe before an authorized person to administer an oath, reciting the true and correct ages of such parties; unless both parties are over the age of 18, except as provided Florida Statute 741.0405. While a link to an online application form is provided at the bottom of this page for your convenience, the marriage license application process is not complete until both parties appear in person at the Clerk’s Office, as noted in the online application form disclaimer below.
Issuance in Blank Prohibited
As per Florida Statute 741.03 it is unlawful to send out any marriage license signed in blank to be issued upon application to persons not in the office of the county judge or clerk of the circuit court.
License Must be Certified and Filed Within 10 Days
Upon solemnizing any marriage, the authorized person shall within 10 days make a certificate thereof on the license, and transmit the same to the office of the county judge or clerk of the circuit court from which it issued. Florida Statute 741.08
Marriage License Processing Deadline
Due to the amount of time it takes our clerks to process an application for a marriage license, paperwork is required to be filed by 4:00 pm in order for your application to be completed by 4:30 pm.
Governed by Florida Statute, Chapter 741
- License is valid for 60 days after issuance.
- 3-day waiting period required for Florida residents, unless Premarital Class is completed prior to obtaining license. The 3-day waiting period begins the day after the license is issued. For example, if the license is issued on Monday, day 1 of the count is Tuesday, day 2 is Wednesday, day 3 is Thursday, Friday is the first day the couple can be married.
- Marriage License Application Fee = $86, unless Premarital course completed.
- Amending a License = $30 (see link below).
- Replace Lost License = $30
- Valid identification required for both parties.
- Family Law Handbook – Family Law Handbook – En Espanol
- If 18 years and older:
- Requires valid government-issued identification with signature
- If married before, must provide exact date of when last marriage ended
- If 17 years old:
- Requires valid Government issued identification with signature.
- Requires certified copy of state issued birth certificate.
- Requires parental consent from both parents along with a copy of each parent’s identification if one parent has sole custody, a certified copy of the court order granting sole custody must be provided.
- Under 18 and pregnant:
- Must see the County Judge with written proof of pregnancy from a physician.
- Premarital Counseling Class
- Not required, however, completion of this class by both parties (Florida residents only) waives the 3-day waiting period and reduces the Marriage License Application fee to $61.
- Class must be completed prior to making application for the Marriage License.
- Class instructor must be registered with Clay County; Provider List is provided below.
- Couple must contact provider to ascertain next available class and if any fees are associated with the class.
- Premarital Preparation Course Provider registration form is provided below.
- Premarital Statement form is required to be completed by all couples – do not sign until you are in front of the Deputy Clerk at one of our offices.
- Out-of-state residents require a valid government-issued identification with signature. The 3-day waiting period is waived, thus you can be married the same day. However, if either party is a Florida resident, the 3-day waiting period will apply unless a waiver is received by a judge.
Required Documents, Forms & Helpful Resources
- Premarital Preparation Course Providers List
- Premarital Preparation Course Provider Registration Form
- REQUIRED-PREMARITAL-STATEMENT FORM
- Attention: If on the Premarital Statement form above you answer question #3 in the affirmative (“we are the parents of a minor child born in the state of Florida”) you must then also complete the Affirmation of Common Children Born in Florida form found below; if there are more than three children (the space allotted), use an additional form to list the additional children and attach.
- Request to Modify Marriage License
- Parental Consent Form
- Wedding Venue Options
- Wedding Officiants as of February 2020 (includes notary publics)
Online Marriage License Application Form Disclaimer
Disclaimer – Please read carefully:
To finalize the issuance of your marriage license – even after successful completion of the form online - both parties must come together into the office of the Clerk of the Court. Valid identification must be presented then for verification. For Florida residents, the 3-day waiting period does not begin until you have appeared in our office to pay the appropriate fees and sign the actual license. After full completion of the form online, please write down the 7-digit number provided after you click "submit" and bring that number with you when you come in person, together to finalize the license at the Clerk’s Office.